skip to Main Content

The High Cost of Reckless Driving in Virginia

Drivers are sometimes ambivalent about the penalties associated with traffic violations, but a reckless driving ticket can have severe consequences. If prosecutors successfully convict you on reckless driving in Virginia, you could face substantial fines, the loss of your driver’s license, and jail time.

Any driver in Virginia accused of reckless driving should take the charge seriously. The Hampton Roads traffic defense lawyers at Shannon & Associates, P.C., can help you avoid the worst outcome in your case. Below you’ll find more information on Virginia’s reckless driving laws, the penalties for reckless driving, and how our traffic ticket defense attorneys can protect your rights during the legal process.

How Does Virginia Define Reckless Driving?

Virginia law defines reckless driving as driving a car at a speed or in a way that endangers someone else’s safety or property. There are also a handful of actions that state law explicitly defines as reckless driving, including:

There’s also a separate Virginia law for aggressive driving. This law defines aggressive driving as committing one or more of the following offenses while driving in a way that’s dangerous to other drivers:

  • Ignoring a stop sign, red light, or other traffic control device
  • Ignoring posted speed limits
  • Speeding up to prevent another vehicle from passing
  • Driving on the wrong side of a highway
  • Passing another vehicle in an unsafe manner
  • Following too closely behind another driver
  • Failing to observe marked traffic lines

Penalties for Reckless Driving in Virginia

Reckless driving in Virginia can result in hefty penalties that can impact your driving privileges. These penalties can include the following:

  • Fines – Reckless driving fines can range from $250 to $2,500, depending on the specifics of the case and your driving record.
  • Demerit Points – A reckless driving conviction will likely add six demerit points to your Virginia driving record, leading to higher insurance premiums and even a driver’s license suspension if you accumulate too many points.
  • Criminal Record – Reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which means you’ll have a criminal record if convicted. This can affect your employment, housing, and other aspects of your life. However, the charge is upgraded to a Class 6 felony if you were driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license or if your actions caused a crash where someone died.
  • Driver’s License Suspension – Depending on the specifics of the offense, your driver’s license could be suspended for six months or longer, especially if your actions caused a crash with fatalities.
  • Jail Time – The maximum jail sentence for misdemeanor reckless driving is one year. However, a conviction for felony reckless driving could send you to prison for up to five years.

How Our Virginia Traffic Defense Lawyers Can Help

At Shannon & Associates, P.C., we understand that facing a reckless driving charge can be stressful and confusing. Our experienced Virginia traffic defense lawyers are here to help you throughout the process, from explaining your charges to representing you in court. We’ll work tirelessly to:

  • Review the details of your case and develop a strong defense strategy.
  • Negotiate with the prosecutor to potentially reduce or dismiss the charges.
  • Advocate for you in court and present the best possible defense.
  • Minimize the potential penalties and long-term impact on your life.

If the police have charged you with reckless driving in Virginia, don’t hesitate to contact our team of dedicated traffic defense lawyers. We’re here to help you get back on the road and move forward with your life.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Back To Top